Where has the captain been?

I can’t believe it’s been nearly two months since I wrote on here. What have I been doing all this time? Well, Summer came and brick-building does take second place to enjoying the sunshine! 🙂

vacationing4But that doesn’t mean I’ve been letting my Lego Ideas project fallow.

Yes, it’s been a bit of a disappointment to realize how expensive individual bricks are compared to how much they cost when part of a set, and no, I haven’t actually managed to save up nearly enough to build my project. But this hasn’t necessarily been a bad thing.

So here’s what I’ve been doing for the last two months, Lego-wise:

  1. I’ve completed my project – although I use the term “completed” extremely loosely since I keep making changes to it every time I open Lego Digital Designer. I’m currently on version 5.5 of my design, and I’ve used 1,911 virtual pieces 😉
  2. I have learnt loads in terms of design and brick use, and have added features and grimbling over time which I feel improve the look considerably.
  3. Compromises that I had to make months ago, have become a lucky asset when radical changes have had to be made (mostly cost-cutting features like, how to use existing pieces and not have to resort to finding a company to print too many custom designs for me).
  4. Pretty much all my wish list has been realized – although if I’m truly honest, there’s one part of the design I’m still not 100% happy with, but hey, there’s still time to make changes while I save up 🙂
  5. I’m really glad I didn’t order pieces two months ago as I’m so much happier with the look of my project as it is today.

So there you have it. An improved design which I’m still not releasing to the public. My reason for this is simple: even though I know I’m a nobody, I can’t help shake the feeling that someone with more skills and resources than me could submit a project to Lego Ideas based on my design before me, and that would make me a very sad mutant indeed.

So until the next time (and hopefully, much sooner than two months from now!), Captain out. It’s really time I hit the waves! 🙂

vacationing2

Leave a Reply

